Skip to main content

  • The Safe Third Country Agreement between Canada and the United States (U.S.) states that refugee claimants are required to request refugee protection in the first safe country they arrive in, unless they qualify for an exception to the Agreement.
  • ​On July 22nd, Canada’s Federal Court ruled that the Safe Third Country Agreement (STCA) between Canada and the United States is unconstitutional.
  • ​The Federal Court’s decision does not come in effect until January 22nd 2021, meaning that the STCA continues to remain in effect.
  • ​Our government is committed to a fair and compassionate refugee system and will be reviewing the Federal Court’s decision to decide on next steps.